Gluten-Free Chai Spice Muffins

I’ve grown to love chai spice. Chai spice reminds me of my friend Chris who would bring her chai spice lattes from the llama farm to our college class (I think it was acting?). I think the espresso stand was close to the llama farm — the llamas didn’t make the stuff!

So when I saw this recipe on Pinterest, I had to give it a try, especially since I had most of the ingredients and it looked really easy.

The original recipe is for gluten-free chai spice cupcakes. I didn’t get the coconut flour needed for cupcakes (I guess that would’ve turned out differently), so I just used the all-purpose gluten-free flour I had on hand. I think when I use that with the xanthan gum, it just turns out so much more muffiny. That’s okay, though! I do enjoy a cupcake, but muffins can be eaten for any meal!

DSC01175

Gluten-Free Chai Spice Muffins

Yields: 12 muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 C gluten-free all-purpose flour
  • 4 tsp chai spices
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp xanthan gum
  • 5 eggs
  • 1/2 C coconut oil
  • 1/2 C honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • A good handful or two of chocolate chips (I used Enjoy Life because it’s free of so many allergens, including gluten, dairy, and nuts)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line the muffin tin with liners. Whisk together flour, xanthan gum, spices, salt, and baking soda. I use a gallon Ziploc bag to mix the dry ingredients (it’s more fun that way and one less bowl to clean).

In a medium- to large-sized bowl, mix and combine eggs, oil, honey, and vanilla until foamy. Ideally, you would melt the coconut oil before you mixed it in, but I just chip away at the jar of oil (it likes being solid), and make sure it stays in small chunks. It works fine either way but is less work and trouble if you don’t melt it first.

Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients until smooth. (As smooth as it’ll get with the coconut oil chunks!) Then pour the mixture into the tins (I use an ice-cream scooper to get even amounts). Then sprinkle the chocolate chips on the top of each cup o’ batter.

Bake for 25-30 minutes or until you insert a toothpick and it comes out clean (but watch for those melted chocolate chips!). Let cool on countertop for 5 minutes and carefully remove the muffins from the tin. They taste better once they’ve really settled and cooled down, but you can eat them at any time!

DSC01176

Leave a Reply

