Curry Potato Chip-Crusted Pork Chops

I didn't take a photo of the dish, so I Photoshopped something that looked a lot like it!

I didn’t take a photo of the dish, so I Photoshopped something that looked a lot like it!

Trying to think of ways to make moist food without dairy, I thought of the baked parmesan chicken commercial I see from time to time. Since parmesan is dairy, I had to come up with something else. I also wanted to import more flavor into the dish, so I thought of my mom’s dressing for her amazing pea salad. Getting boneless pork chops instead of chicken, I figured the recipe would work with either anyway. And it did!

Curry Potato Chip-Crusted Pork Chops

Ingredients

  • Boneless pork chops (I had four)
  • Mayonnaise
  • Curry powder (I used McCormick’s)
  • Lemon juice
  • Potato chips (make sure to get the ones that don’t use peanut oil at all)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees (have you noticed this is the temperature I use for practically everything?). In a bowl, combine mayonnaise, curry powder, and lemon juice. The amount will depend on how large your pork chops are (or chicken is) and what you like taste-wise. Definitely taste after each addition of curry or lemon juice to get the taste you want.

Once you have made your desired mayo blend, spread it on the pork chops. In hindsight, I think I would’ve liked to have covered the whole chop. Next, take a bunch of potato chips and crush them in a Ziplock bag. Then sprinkle on the pork chops. Also in hindsight, I think completely crusting them would’ve worked better.

After coating the chops with the potato chips, put it in the oven for at least 30 minutes. I put it in there for an hour which may have been a bit too long, but you really don’t want undercooked pork chops. If you’re using chicken, definitely do less than an hour because it will cook faster than pork chops.

You can do many variations to this recipe. If you aren’t a curry fan, you can use ranch mix or any other blend of spices you enjoy. If you want to keep the mayo plain and use flavored potato chips, that’s a good variation, too! Just make sure there’s no gluten or dairy in the flavored potato chips (unless you don’t have a problem with those!).

Leave a Reply

